Risk

December 12, 2013

This is me when I was afraid to take the risk of getting on a rollercoaster

This is me when I was afraid to take the risk of getting on a rollercoaster.

Sometimes life throws you curveballs. Sometimes these curveballs suck because the force you to make a decision on whether or not to take risks. Risks are a necessary part of life. Relationships, career paths, education decisions, and many other areas of life challenge us.

To speak frankly, I must admit that I hate risks. They confuse me and cause great anxiety for me. I always end of questioning all aspects of taking the risk and sometimes even catastrophize. What if I ruin the good things about the present? What if it ends up working out and it isn’t the outcome is different than I expected? What if there is a small success that is only temporary?

The answer to all of these questions, in the end, typically end up being “What would happen if I don’t take the risk? Will I be missing out on something great? What if these risks would have improved the quality of my life?”

I understand that “What if?” questions usually end up making the risk-taking decision a lot more difficult than it needs to be. But how do you avoid the stomach churning feelings that surface when the risk word becomes a present thing in your life.

My challenge to myself and the readers of this blog post is to take that leap. Make those decisions to take risks. Be okay with accepting to possible (good or bad) consequences that will come from taking these risks.

Challenge: Don't be afraid. Take the risk.

Challenge: Don’t be afraid. Take the risk.

Skylar Gott signing off.

 

Leave a Reply

