Preparation for the Unknown

March 12, 2011

Preparation. Do we really know how to do it? Is it something that comes naturally to us or is it something that we struggle to learn how to do? I believe that learning how to prepare for things in the future can be complicated and I often have no clue where to start.

I have started preparing for Graduate School for Clinical Social Work. While the school I am looking at (Washburn University) does not require the GRE, I have started to prepare for it anyway. As I started taking practice exams, I flashed back to my ACT days where I felt like I had no clue how to prepare. I did not know what equations to learn for the mathematics section or what vocabulary I needed to know for the reading sections. Blind preparation was frustrating at best and I often wanted to throw my books out of the window.

Preparing for the GRE is a lot like preparing for other things in life. We think we know where we are supposed to be going, but we really do not know what exactly to expect. This goes for college plans, housing, faith decisions, and the list goes on and on. If there is anything that I have learned about preparation, it is that I need to focus on one specific area at a time. I get overwhelmed with all of the things that I need to prepare for, it all piles up and I end up barely keeping my head above water.

Preparation is a tricky thing, but sometimes we need a little tricky in our lives to challenge us.

Leave a Reply

