How is it With Your Soul?

November 16, 2009

DSCN1254

my contribution to the wall

This weekend, I had the awesome privilege of attending Exploration 2009. This event was designed for high schoolers and young adults who have felt the call to ministry. The purpose of this event was to help us discern and respond to God’s call in our lives.

There are several things that really made this weekend special for me. First: my awesome small group, number 23! Second: the fellowship… which may or may not include unofficial workshops off site. Third: meeting with representatives from the 13 United Methodist seminaries. And fourth: the prayer room.

My Small Group really defined the event for me. I grew close to this group and I really felt like we all were put into each other’s lives for a reason. I can’t wait to see what God does in these young people’s lives!

Fellowship was a big thing for me. This, to me, included the mini-trip a group of us participants unofficially took to SMU-Perkins. We enjoyed a lot of laughs, stories, and not to mention the several times we got hushed in the library.

Representatives from the 13 United Methodist seminaries were there to answer our questions and help us learn more about what seminary is all about. I can’t believe I’m even starting to think about this, but here are my top three: 1. Boston University School of Theology, 2. Saint Paul School of Theology, and 3. SMU- Perkins. I am so excited to see where God calls me to!

The prayer room offered everyone an awesome place to pray, meditate, and explore their faith through scriptures and other ways. One thing that really stood out to me in particular was the wall of paper set up for participants to write “how it is with their soul.” I took a picture of mine and its the teal writing in the above picture that has different colored “souls.”

This event really helped solidify that I am heading in the right direction to start off with in order to respond to my call. I challenge you guys to think of how God is calling you in your life, and no, it does not even have to have to do with the church at all!

Leave a Reply

