Stitched on Letters and Random Google Searches

October 26, 2009

So, I haven’t really written about college lately.

There is one thing I have definitely learned about college: you definitely get more than you bargained for. I have experienced a wide variety of things since I have been in college. Joining a sorority, late night trips to Walmart to get hair dye, mass quantities of time spent on Facebook and pointless searches on Google and YouTube are some of these experiences that I have had so far. In addition to these fun things, there have also been the hard and sometimes crappy things that life throws at you: overwhelming amounts of stress and work, mistakes that have been made, learning things the hard way, and the list could probably go on and on. With both groups of these things, I know that the good and sometimes ridiculously pointless should be what we think of most.

One of the greatest experiences I’ve had this year has been the process of going Greek. I came to Baker with a very determined mind. I was going to pledge to one sorority and one sorority only. I had my heart set on a particular one and there was nothing that anyone could do or say to make me change my mind. I went into formal recruitment with a mind that was already made up. The first night, three out of the four houses on campus dropped me from recruitment. The only house left was the one I personally dropped. I got so upset that not only did I get dropped from the house of my dreams, but that I got dropped by the other ones that I thought were ideal at the time. That night I refused to go to the house that asked me back and I hung out in my dorm or somewhere similar. A few weeks later I decided to give this other house a shot and it turns out that pledging to Phi Mu was the greatest decision that I could have made. I have been surrounded by a great group of girls, who like other girls, have their drama, but love everyone at the end of the day. Plus, who doesn’t like having t-shirts with their letters stitched onto them? I AM A COMPULSIVE LETTER SHOPPER… Do they have a support group for that?

I think that is what I need to focus on the most when I am feeling stressed or overwhelmed. I have such a great support system, not only with my sorority sisters, but with a good majority of the people in my life.

Peace, Love, and Long Live the Random Google Searches…

Leave a Reply

