I Don’t Understand

October 10, 2009

I have discovered something lately: I don’t understand.

I don’t understand a lot of things.

I don’t understand why some people claim that they are going to be there after not being there for most of your life decide that they aren’t going to be there after all. I’m not talking about typical friend drama that comes with being a teenager. I’m talking about how a parent who only makes cameo appearances in your life “attempts to reach out” and then shuts you down. Really? Is that really any way to go about things? Is that really what you do to someone you supposedly care about?

I don’t understand why some people act like they are your friends to your face and then they go around talking about you behind your back. This is the typical drama, that until now, I had managed to escape all through high school! Sometimes I wish people would grow up and realize that there are better things to do than tear someone down.

I don’t understand why we let unimportant things consume our minds with worry. I am guilty of this sometimes, but sometimes I really can’t stand when people complain about lines or about traffic when some people can’t even afford to keep the lights on and the electricity running in their household, let alone have food to eat.

What I do understand is that this stuff does suck, but all of this is so small compared to how much God really does provide us and comfort us and love us. I understand that he is there through all of this.

I am mostly speaking to myself with this post, but I think it is important for us all to remember: No matter what crap life throws at us, God is there to let us know that we are not alone.

Leave a Reply

