Reflection on Philippians

July 28, 2009

My bible says that the theme of this book of the bible is “Knowing Christ is the ultimate reason for living.” After previously spending a week at a conference youth camp called Institute, I feel very strongly that this statement is true.

In Philippians 1:12-30, Paul does not complain about being in chains. His chains have helped “advance the gospel” (1:12). After reading this section, I thought about how our struggles help us grow in our faith. If I hadn’t faced some of the struggles in my life, I doubt my faith would be this strong. It is hard to think about being committed to God when your world seems to be falling apart. When things fall apart, some people start to lose hope and can’t see how God could be present in such a hard time. If there is one thing I learned at Institute this week, it was that God is there NO MATTER WHAT. If you take a look at Psalm 23, you see that God is there for you and will provide for you. The part that reallly stands out to me is verse 4: “Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will fear no evil for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me” (TNIV). I think these two pieces of scripture relate to each other. If we are going through hard times, we should use it as a chance to advance the gospel AT LEAST in our own lives as well as remember that no matter how dark things can get, GOD IS ALWAYS WITH YOU.

Also in Philippians, Paul writes that that you should, in a sense, imitate the humility of Christ. He talks about valuing others above yourself. Sometimes this is a challenge, especially with our enemies. I could think of a list of people who have made me mad at some point or have hurt me, but it is important to value everyone. It is important to realize that God loves everyone, whether or not they are the nicest people in the world. God values each and every one of his creations, so we should value every person as well.

Philippians 3:14 says that “I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” I love this verse and it was one that really stuck with me from Institute. This verse reminds me that the way to live a fulfilling life is through Christ. This is so exciting! I think it is amazing that God sent his son and we have a clean slate because of him!

In closing, partially because I REALLY REALLY want to go to bed, I want to say that this book of the bible is a great reminder of how we can live life that glorifies God. Another good thing about this book is that is is a short one that is easy to get through if you aren’t used to reading the bible in your free time đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

